Home Ec.

4 Aug

So, hey there. Instead of writing a big post(again) about how guilty I feel for neglecting the blog, how busy I am, etc., I thought I’d just jump back in. I’m surprised in a way that I’ve done this, but I’ve signed up for an online sewing class.

A little history: After my grandmother passed away, my dad found her sewing machine in a closet. He actually said to me that he was going to throw it out! I said “Don’t you dare!!” So, he kept it & every few months over the past 4 years since she’s been gone, I’d think “I really have to do something with that machine. It shouldn’t just be sitting there. Someone should be using it.” And I decided that someone should be me.

This July 4th weekend, I dragged Nana’s Kenmore Zig Zag 1410 sewing machine (pictures coming soon – it’s so cute!) out of the closet, set it up at the kitchen table and plugged it in. It just hummed, sort of. Then I stepped on the foot pedal. It reminded me of driving a car in a way, just not quite as scary. Then the needle of the machine started to move. It seems like it is in good shape.
In fact, I really don’t remember seeing Nana use it. I think she may have used it more for hemming & fixing some clothing, rather than quilting or making clothes. My mom & her mom are the hobby sewists and I sadly never thought of my father’s mother having much interest in this hobby. Anyway, online I’d been able to find out that the machine might have been produced by Sears sometime between the very late 1960s and mid 1970s. My dad has never paid much attention to this sort of thing, so he has no idea when Nana might have bought it.

Satisfied that it might suit my purposes, I stopped the machine & put it away. I’d been searching for YouTube tutorials about how to use a sewing machine, scouring Amazon for possible new machines(I was curious and at that point, not sure if my grandmother’s machine would work), and looking up books about sewing. Then I saw a tutorial by Leigh-Ann of FreckledNest, a blog I’d never read before. Leigh-Ann happened to be close to announcing an online sewing class. I sent her an email, asking for further details, and decided I would sign up.

I’m a bit nervous to start. I’ve got my supply list printed & want to buy some fabric this weekend. The first project is Cloth Napkins.  I’m going to give it a try, following the tutorials about getting to know the machine. I’m excited about it and hopeful.

Wish me luck!

One Response to “Home Ec.”

  1. Beverly August 4, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Luck!

    I can’t wait to read about how the class goes. Post lots of pictures, will you?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

