Sock Knitting Ennui…Opinion Wanted!

9 Aug

I love knitting socks. Under most circumstances, they are quick, portable and fun to make. There are so many patterns, foot sizes and types of sock yarn out there, that I can’t get bored with them. Usually. Right now, I’m bored with the sock I was knitting. There’s nothing wrong with the pattern at all. I’ve made a pair using it before & I loved the results. I also love the designer.

I think the ennui stems from the fact that these were also the last pair of socks I made. They weren’t for me, so I thought, oh I’ll just make a pair for myself. Alas, they’ve been sitting & sitting. I got to a certain part & I realized, I don’t want to knit these anymore. I need something different.

With a slight wince, I cut the yarn & started over. I think I want to make another pair of Monkey socks…but I’m not sure. I’ve made these twice before, so I’m a bit worried that I’ll be bored again.

Or, do I start something completely new – with a different yarn altogether.
Papaver is another pattern I haven’t made yet & adore.  And I have the perfect pink/reddish yarn for it. When i got the yarn, this was the pattern I had in mind.

So, what do you think? Which sock should I make next?

5 Responses to “Sock Knitting Ennui…Opinion Wanted!”

  1. Kate August 9, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Down with socks! Up with sweaters!

  2. libraryliz August 9, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I knew you’d say that! But this is in addition to the sweater. I forgot to mention that. I need something to bring to work on during dinner breaks at work.

  3. Beverly August 9, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    I love knitting Monkeys, too!

  4. libraryliz August 9, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    They’re just so quick! I’ve made them 2x now. I’m honestly torn but the good thing is no matter which I choose, I can always pick the other one next.
    The other “comfort” sock pattern I’ve made is Charade socks. Those are really great – but I’ve made those 3x now! However, the last pair weren’t with a handpainted yarn & I’ve vowed I will only use handpainted with Charades. That yarn keeps it more interesting!

  5. sherrie December 3, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    why don’t you try a new pattern…there are a jzillion on ravelry for free…why would you make the same sock over and over…learn new skills

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

