my sockstory

9 Oct

Last week, Lolly asked these questions – I’m answering them now, after having had time to think about them. Here goes:

When did you start making socks? [paraphrased]: how did you learn, who taught you?
I started last Socktober – 2005. I had wanted to make socks for a few months at that point. I’d tried with fingering weight yarn & size 2 Susan Bates needles but it was like knitting dental floss with slippery toothpicks. I couldn’t get the hang of it. Socktober 2005 inspired me to start fresh.

What was your first pair? How have they held up over time?
I used an Ann Norling pattern, Plymouth Encore & size 5 bamboo dpns. The results were huge! Totally too big for me but only slightly too big for the girl I live with. She still wears them to sleep sometimes. They seem to have held up ok, haven’t shrunk during washing but have pilled a bit.

What would you have done differently?
Nothing, really. Maybe used size 3 or 4 dpns.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
I love Cascade Fixation, so stretchy and fun! I loved using Knit Picks Star Gazer Lily, which seems to be discontinued(at least I haven’t seen it on their site).

Do you like to crochet your socks, knit on dpns, 2 circulars, or the Magic Loop method?
I’ve only used dpns. I don’t want to try crocheting socks, and while I am intrigued by circs and Magic Loop, I am still working on using dpns well.

What kind of heel do you prefer?
Definitely the flap. I couldn’t make any sense of the directions for the SRH. I think I need to see it in person. Plus, I’ve read somewhere that the flap holds up better.

How many pairs have you made?
Only 4 pairs. Working on my fifth pair right now.

Leave a Reply

