Trust

17 Jan

We’ve had the cats, Bentley & Mia, for 13 months now. We rescued them from a local no-kill shelter on December 10, 2006. It was a Sunday, so I had to go to work, leaving jv home with the kitties.
That first night, Bentley was in love with jv right away – sitting on her lap within hours. Mia just looked at him, as if to say, what are you doing? – getting her to love & trust us has been an uphill battle it has seemed to me. But lately, every morning around 9:30-10:00, as she’s watching the birds outside, she allows me to hold her. I put my hand under her back feet and she tucks her front legs under her. If it were yoga, I think it would be called the Snail pose.
I usually stand like this for as long as I can – no more than 15 minutes, as I have stuff to do. But I really try to make sure I do it because it feels like we’re bonding and it’s the only time she lets anyone hold her for any amount of time, really.
I love my cats.

2 Responses to “Trust”

  1. Mellemel January 18, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    Hey where are my knitted items!! I didn’t get any for Christmas and why didn’t you tell me about your blog??? I mean I am only your sister and all!!! Now I’m offended.

  2. libraryliz January 19, 2008 at 1:33 am #

    I will be sending your knitted items out very soon. Monday, in fact.
    Oh and I didn’t tell you about the blog b/c it’s primarily about knitting and I wasn’t sure you’d be interested.

Leave a Reply

