Dare I say, “the New Classics”?

14 May

Right here, right now, I’ve got a Summer 2008 resolution. It’s something I usually do every summer anyway, but this year, I really mean it. I’m going to read the books on my shelves; this is the only rule. I’ve got lots of books on my shelves & many of them have been started & not finished or never started at all.

The list so far: Wuthering Heights, Villette, The Hotel New Hampshire, Peter Pan, Middlesex, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, The Historian, Catch-22, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Ice Storm, Middlemarch, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie, and finally, The Princess Bride.

There are more on the shelves & I haven’t decided the order in which I’ll read these books but this is a good start, I think. I’m excited about the list because it’s a nice mix of modern and classic.

One Response to “Dare I say, “the New Classics”?”

  1. Francesca May 16, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    Ohh I do the same thing. I have piles of books on shelves and on my floor waiting to be read. I’ve been in a non-reading mood lately which does not help. But this inspires me! I think I need to make a list of 10 books to read this summer.

    As for the Old 97’s – the gold standard for me is Wreck Your Life. But their live album is amazing and they are incredible live – or so I’ve been told… I’ve only seen Rhett Miller alone live and he is quite enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

