Tomato, Tomahto: sauce with butter & onions

20 Mar

To be honest, I’ve never experimented with spaghetti sauce much. My father makes his own & I’ve always liked it so I usually grab some of his and keep it in the freezer. However, I’m all out of the sauce & I  wanted to try some different sauces. Which leads me to this recipe Tomato Sauce with Butter & Onions.

I saw it a couple years ago when Deb posted it and was excited to try it…and then I just didn’t. Until I started Weight Watchers and wanted something really simple with few ingredients. Enter the sauce!

I bought a can of Cento San Marzano tomatoes, 4 shallots(the yellow onion at my grocer looked less than appealing) and already had butter(I know, not very WW friendly – I will try olive oil next time). I was slightly unsure about the shallots but as soon as the mixture started to simmer, that faded. It smelled fantastic. It took about 45 minutes to complete, the butter melting, the shallots falling apart.

 2 cups of dry pasta(cooked) later, and I’ve a dish that will serve me at least 3 meals.

Smitten Kitchen suggests removing the onion halves but I decided to leave the shallot pieces in and they were delicious.The sauce itself is very tasty. I’m used to a fairly seasoned, thickened sauce – this was chunky, loose and not heavily seasoned. It was exactly the type of meal I needed last night. It was finished cooking right when I was just hungry enough to eat.

You could have a crusty bread with it but I needed vegetables, so I had a side salad.

 

 

 

One Response to “Tomato, Tomahto: sauce with butter & onions”

  1. watkinsmay65862 April 8, 2016 at 1:57 pm #

    haha i love her too, and i totally love that quote too! love ya Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

